KIT-Card

European Student Card

For students, the KIT-Card is also valid as a student ID of the KIT.
In addition, the KIT-Cards for students are provided with the features of the "European Studen Card (ESC)":

  1. "European Student Identifier (ESI)" with country code according to Din/ISO, EU-wide unique "Personal Identification Code (PIC)" of KIT and matriculation number as unique identifier within KIT.

  2. QR-Code
    The stored URL contains the EU-wide unique number, the "European Student Card Number". At a later stage, students can register at a portal and thus enable authorized institutions to determine the validity of the ESC on the basis of this URL.

  3. Hologram to increase counterfeit protection

The URL of the QR code looks like this:
http://esc.gg/6a377012-48b3-1037-94dd-007990797674

The text behind the last "/" is called the "European Student Card Number (ESCN)" and is assigned to each ESC as a unique identifier. This code must be registered with the ESC router, together with your KIT e-mail address and the ESI. The URL will be valid and usable only after this. For data protection reasons, this registration is not automatically done by the KIT, it has to be approved by the cardholder.

If the function is activated, the following data will be transmitted by KIT:

  • European Student Identifier (ESI)
  • European Student Card Number (ESCN)
  • Your Mail address: u...@student.kit.edu
  • Card validity

For more information see European Student Card page.

The function for approving is currently under development on the portal https://my.scc.kit.edu and will be available for all students shortly. If you need to activate your card before the beginning of self registering, please contact service∂kit-card.kit.edu with the request to activate the ESC. Please enter your matriculation number and assure explicitly that you agree with the transfer of the data to the ESC-Router.

KIT-Card

European Student Card

Für Studierende gilt die KIT-Card gleichzeitig auch als Studienausweis des KIT.

Zusätzlich sind die KIT-Cards für Studierende mit den Merkmalen der "European Student Card (ESC)" ausgestattet:

  1. European Student Identifier (ESI) mit Länderkennzeichen gemäß Din/ISO, EU-weit eindeutigen „Participant Identification Code (PIC)“ des KIT und Matrikelnummer als eindeutiges Kennzeichen innerhalb des KIT
  2. QR-Code
    Die hinterlegte URL enthält die EU-weit eindeutige Nummer, die „European Student Card Number“. In einer späteren Ausbaustufe können sich Studierende an einem Portal registrieren und ermöglichen damit berechtigten Einrichtungen die Ermittlung der Gültigkeit der ESC anhand dieser URL.
  3. Hologramm zur Erhöhung der Fälschungssicherheit

Die URL des QR-Codes sieht folgendermaßen aus:
http://esc.gg/6a377012-48b3-1037-94dd-007990797674

Die Zeichenfolge nach dem letzten "/" nennt sich "European Student Card Number (ESCN)" und wird jeder ESC als eindeutige Kennung zugeordnet. Diese Nummer muss zusammen mit Ihrer KIT-Mailadresse und der ESI beim ESC-Router registriert werden. Erst danach wird die URL gültig und nutzbar. Aus Datenschutzgründen erfolgt diese Meldung am KIT nicht automatisch, sondern muss durch die Karteninhaberin / den Karteninhaber freigegeben werden.

Im Falle einer Aktivierung der Funktion werden von Seiten des KIT folgende Daten übermittelt:

  • European Student Identifier (ESI)
  • European Student Card Number (ESCN)
  • Ihre Mailadresse: u...@student.kit.edu

Nach Übermittlung der Daten können Sie sich einen Account anlegen. Dazu rufen Sie die Seite der European Student Card auf.

Diese Funktion befindet sich derzeit in Entwicklung und wird in nächster Zeit für alle Studierenden im Portal https://my.scc.kit.edu zur Verfügung stehen. Sollten Sie vor Beginn der Selbtstregistrierung Bedarf haben, Ihre Karte freizuschalten, so melden Sie sich bei service∂kit-card.kit.edu mit der Bitte die ESC freizuschalten. Bitte geben Sie dazu Ihre Matrikelnummer an und versichern Sie explizit, dass Sie mit der Übermittlung der Daten an den ESC-Router einverstanden sind.